Understanding Revocation of Paternity in Michigan
The mother, acknowledged father, an alleged father or prosecutor can file an action for revocation of paternity. Typically, this action must be filed within 3 years after the child’s birth or within 1 year of the date the acknowledgment of paternity was signed. Often men will file to revoke paternity if they are deemed the legal father of a child born during the marriage, if they believe they are not the actual biological father, i.e. the child was fathered by another man. In some situations, the Court does not have to revoke paternity if it is not in the child’s best interest. Since all situations are different, it is important to consult an attorney when these issues arise. The act was established in 2012 and is an evolving part of family law.
DAWN’s family law and divorce attorneys are here to help you navigate through Michigan’s revocation of paternity court proceedings.
Family Law Practice Areas
Latest posts by Inforum Network (see all)
- What’s Happening This Week In The Detroit Area: September 17th, 2017 - September 17, 2017
- What’s Happening This Week In The Detroit Area: September 10th, 2017 - September 10, 2017
- What’s Happening This Week In The Detroit Area: September 3, 2017 - September 3, 2017